How To Delete Facebook Account Forever (Updated)

delete facebook
How To

Whether you have privacy concerns or just want to take some time off your social media, there are plenty of reasons why someone might want to delete their profile – and it’s easier than you might think. Keep on reading to find out how to delete Facebook Account forever.

Deactivation VS Deletion: What’s the difference?

There are two ways to take your profile offline on Facebook. The first option is to deactivate your account. It means:

  • Your profile will go offline
  • No one will be able to see it
  • People will still be able to see the inbox messages you’ve sent to them
  • Facebook saves your account info so you can reactivate anytime. Just sign in using your old email and password and your profile will come back online.

The second option is the Deletion. When you delete your account:

  • Your profile will go offline
  • People will still be able to see the inbox messages you’ve sent to them
  • After a specific period of time(usually 90 days) your profile will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to reactivate it.

So basically the only difference is, deactivation is temporary while deletion is permanent.

Delete Facebook Account

Deleting your social media presence is a serious matter. Websites like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram are ingrained in our society. So make sure you really want to take this step because there is no coming back from here.

Step by step guide to delete your profile

1 – Click on the drop-down arrow located on the top right corner of your profile.

Step 1 how to delete facebook account

2 – Select the settings option as shown below:

step 2 how to delete facebook account

3 – On the settings menu, go to “Your Facebook Information”, and select the “deactivation and deletion” option.

profile information

4 – You can choose between deactivating your account, and permanently deleting your account. Select either of the two options and hit confirm.

permanently delete your facebook

5 – In the final step, Facebook will show some options. We strongly suggest downloading your information before proceeding with deletion. It is always better to have an offline copy of your profile.

final step

Once you have clicked on the Delete Account, Facebook will ask for any possible reasons. Moreover, it will prompt you to enter your password as a confirmation of your identity. And……. you are done!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *